In Paradisum

In Paradisum is Coro Allegro's second commercial CD with Navona Records. This recording features live performances of two commissioned works by acclaimed composer Patricia Van Ness: Requiem, a personal, intimate ritual of consolation reinforcing the presence of divine love; and The Voice of the Tenth Muse, a large, dramatic work based on the texts of Sappho.

Featured soloists include Sanford Sylvan and Ruth Cunningham.

You may purchase your copy at any of the following locations:

Read the reviews

Listen to some excerpts:

"The beauty of Patricia's music is in the atmosphere it creates; wherever we perform it around the World it is universally well-received - and as with all good music it breaks down the barriers of language and culture, communicating on a higher level."

- Christopher Gabbitas The King' Singers

"What I love about [Patricia Van Ness's] music is that it manages to be simultaneously passionate, sensual, and ethereal. It is timeless. You can’t fight it or rush it. Rather, you need to give it space and let it unfold, enveloping you in a lush soundscape of warmth, anguish, and beauty. Even the solo a cappella chants in both works draw you in and give comfort, no matter that one is spiritual and the other erotic. In Patty’s world, there is very little difference between the two."

- David Hodgkins Artistic Director

"Both compositions on this album, Requiem and The Voice of the Tenth Muse, use elements from the medieval and Renaissance musical eras, and attempt to produce the beauty I’ve described. Composing music for these timeless texts gave me the opportunity to continue my ongoing exploration into my concepts of the nature of the Divine, and substantiated my belief that beauty and Divine Love are one."

- Patricia Van Ness Composer


Track Listing:
Sanford Sylvan, baritone
  1. Introitus
  2. Kyrie
  3. Domine Jesu Christe
  4. Sanctus and Benedictus
  5. Pie Jesus and Agnus Dei
  6. Lux Aeterna
  7. Libera me and the Comforter
  8. In Paradisum
Ruth Cunningham, soprano
  1. I Pray
  2. Come to me from Krete
  3. Now She Stands among Lydian Women
  4. To Me It Seems That Man Has the Fortune of the Gods.
  5. Some Say an Army of Horsemen
  6. On the Throne of Many Hues, Immortal Aphrodite
  7. I Pray